The adventures of Tintin and and a Little Boy

“Blue blistering barnacles!!!!

Thundering typhoons!!!

You nincompoops, interplanetary pirates, I am not going into that flying coffin again!!!!”

 

 

–Capt. Haddock to Thompson and Thomson in the,” Explorers on the Moon”

 

 

 

Oh!!! How could I forget captain Haddock and his favorite Loch Lomond brand of whiskey? And the inimitable Cuthbert Calculus, Bianca Castafiore, the two bumbling detectives? I was lazing around… in front of the idiot box last night, and suddenly this show on cartoon network came up…I just thought of watching Tintin for a change… and I exclaimed to myself, “blue blistering barnacles, I forgot almost all the stories in it!!!! And once it had been one of my choicest of all books. I still remember I almost pestered my mom to insanity every other day, to buy me all the Tintin series until I had all 23 of them. Hee haw!!! Someday I was too bored of reading them over and over again, I would scramble up to my mom’s lap and blurred out,

 

“MOOOOm, read this story for me, pleaseeeee” my dad was always my back up plan, because he was a bit impatient while reading out stories. Lol…

 

 

There was a time, when I had almost memorized the entire 23 books, err… well almost!! I used to sit with a Tintin book on the dining table, while having meals, and I could hear my mom screaming,

 

“Why do you bring this book, along with the food?”

And she used to show stupid excuses,

 

”if you don’t pay attention to what you are eating, you will never grow up into a strong boy!!”

 

And I being the smallest of all kids, used to look up to mom, starry eyed, and murmur under my breath,

 

“Ma, just this one last time, only 10 pages left to read” my mom would say,

 

“no, leave this book, I will tell you a nice story instead… oh!! I was heart broken!

 

A child and his childishness hah!! My mom finally gave up the idea.

 

Then there were days, when we actually used actually play being Tintin. Ewes, what was that game. Umm, well we used build houses with the legos and actually make up our own story with a certain tuft less Tintin, a hot tempered captain Haddock, and the good old Cuthbert calculus, who used to act as he was “a little hard of hearing.” And that game would be fun, with occasional fights,(childhood adventures you know).

 

One day I even slipped one Tintin book into my school bag, so that I could read it in class, and I did, and I got my caught too!!! I had a guardian call. Gawwwd, I can still pain in my butt, I was crying like a baby (well… I was one at that time…). My dad locked up all my 23 hot collection in the cupboard, until my final examination was over. God!! How crazy can dads get over silly things!!

 

 

I reached for my precious book shelf, wiped out the dust, went through the stupid Enid Blytons, hardy boys, the dumb old pop-up books, the john grishams and the amitav ghoshs’ until I found the entire 23 crazy diamonds. The pages have turned yellow, with time, the corners of the front covers were coming off, I wiped the dust off with my hands, and thought oh! Crap what a mad little brat I was, over this immortal soul, and handed it over to my 6 yr old cousin sister, who went away dancing… I was really happy that day.

Its like passing on a precious gem, the passion will never die.

 

Hey c’mon guys this Tintin fever’s not yet over now, I got a Tintin cd collectors pack, the entire lot.

 

 

 

6 responses to “The adventures of Tintin and and a Little Boy

  1. Well, I like Heidi the best. It’s a pity cartoon network is not showing it again. I don’t know about tintin, maybe guys like it more.

  2. hi shruti,

    well..i ‘ardly watched heidi… andi hardly watch cartoons nowadays… just a got off the hook…these days… grown other interests lolzzz… but tintin and asterix were my personal favs..and garfield too…oh!!! how can i forget calvin… beautiful!

    cheerio
    sauvik

  3. Sauvik, seems like we are from same school of thoughts. The first English book my mom read to me was “Red Rackham’s Treasure”, when I was below 3 years old. Obviously I couldn’t read that time, but during dinner time I forced my mom to read it to me again and again and again – and I memorized every line of it. And then I started to open up the book and say the words loudly – and everyone used to get dazzled, thinking that I can read at that young age. 😛

    There was no looking back – all the Tintin books were finished by my age of 6. Although a children’s magazine in Bengali (Anandamela) used to publish the translated version of Tintin, but I preferred to read those in English.

    Oh, thanks for adding us in your blogroll and the comment at Tinkerbell’s post!

  4. even i thought so… bigbangbong…u finished off all the tintins at the age of 6 ???? gawdd… !!! thats great .. i didnt even start my tintin s then.. till i was ten or so.. (have ta ask mommy dearest for the info )lol….and i have to admit u r clever… haha.. i have a niece … who does the same.. with her copy of childrens ramayana .. the twist is that while dooing this.. she was holding the book upside down…

    yes…and regardiing the anandamela… even i was mad abt them.. specially the puja versions…

    cheerio
    sauvik

Leave a Reply

